Bangor Grammar School

Student Council

The School Council was launched in Bangor Grammar School in 2011. It has become a vital channel of communication, ensuring the pupil body has a voice within the school. Elections are held annually in which members of each year group elect representatives who will best serve their needs.

The council works in partnership alongside the Pastoral Vice Principal and the Senior Leadership Team to discuss issues arising throughout the academic year, objectively critiquing policies and making suggestions of how to improve aspects of school life. Meetings are held regularly throughout each term with an agenda generated by the members of the council in consultation with their year groups. The views of the council have been sought to help in the decision-making process in several areas of school life, some of which are detailed below:

  • The council undertook a review of the school’s hair policy and after consultation with members of the senior leadership team several changes were agreed upon to bring the policy up to date with new styles and fashions.
  • New bike sheds have been purchased for the school to allow more pupils to store their bikes securely after this was suggested by council members.
  • After receiving feedback from pupils on the provision of healthy food at the canteen the council consulted with the catering staff, who are now in the process of setting up a salad bar.

This fostering of a more transparent communication between pupils and staff enables the school to honestly assess how it can meet the needs of the boys.

2023/24 Student Council

Year 14

Rhylan Cordner

Jack McGreevy

Shay Ritchie

Zach Cummings


Year 13

Filip Szwerluga


Year 12

Adil Mohamed

Cameron Furlonger

Charlie Beal

Tom Parker

Caden Craig

Year 11

Ben Adams

Blake Carson

Year 10

Max Watson

Damien Marcinek

Year 9

Drew Bishop

Leo McCoubrey

Year 8

Brett Jones

Harry Campbell